Skip to main content

Community Fellows

Community Fellows are non-academic individuals who are actively collaborating with the research institute. They have a demonstrated interest in the research agenda and/or activities of The Tshepo Institute for the Study of Contemporary Africa, they would have submitted a request to the Director to be a Community Fellow, and their request was accepted by Tshepo's Council. 



Derek Bond, Examinations Invigilator 

Derek Bond is an Examinations Invigilator at Wilfrid Laurier University.


Tolu Kayode

Tolu Kayode is the Associate Director of Student & Community Experience at Wilfrid Laurier University. He is also the Co-Chair of the Black Faculty and Staff Caucus at Laurier, and is passionate about student leadership and mentorship.



Former Community Members


Hayat Rushdy-Hanna

Hayat was born in Ethiopia of Egyptian parents and grew up in Burundi, where she lived for 16 years until it was time to pursue her post secondary education in France. Her years spent in Africa have increased her determination to join others in their efforts to highlight the needs and contributions of the African continent to the discourse on development.  

She graduated with a degree in doctoral studies in International Law from the Université de Montpellier but had to leave before completing her doctorate because of her precarious status and was accepted as a landed immigrant in New-Brunswick. She was strongly encouraged to undertake complete studies in Common Law, which she did at the École de Droit, Université de Moncton, graduating with an LLB. Hayat is an active participant in community building activities, sitting on the multifaith advisory board of the Hamilton Public Board of Education and being a board member of the United Nations Association - Hamilton Chapter. She is also involved in many capacity-building activities in the Bahá’í community in and around Hamilton and Brantford.

Contact Us:

Karen Cyrus, Director


Stacey Wilson-Forsberg, Associate Director