Skip to main content

Our People

Board of Directors

Roderick Melnik

Sapna Isotupa
Associate Director

Manuele Santoprete
Deputy Director, Operations and Advancement

Marek Wartak
Deputy Director, Education

Advisory Board

Albert-László Barabási
Northeastern University, Boston

Alan Edelman
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Carlos Garcia-Servera
University of California, Santa Barbara

Shaofan Li
University of California, Berkeley

Bruce Shapiro
NIH National Cancer Institute Centre for Cancer Research, Frederick

Research Theme Coordinators


Associate Members

  • Shyam Badu
  • Nick Costanzino
  • Stephanie Crowe
  • Jevgenijs Kaupuzs
  • Roy Mahapatra
  • Nimer Murshid
  • Max Paliy
  • Sanjay Prabhakar
  • Haijun Tan
  • Anurag Tiwari
  • Linxiang Wang
  • Bin Wen
  • Karl Wouterloot
  • Jack Yang
  • Sundeep Singh
  • Anakkavoor Jagdish

Student Members

  • Adrian Adamescu
  • Reem Almarashi
  • Farah Ateeq
  • Konrad Bania
  • Sia Bhowmick
  • Richard Edward
  • Benjamin Friedrich
  • Heather Gaebler
  • Harold Hodgins
  • Christopher Hogan
  • Igor Ivashev
  • Courtney Jones
  • Russell Kennedy
  • Muhammad Khan
  • Colin Kirst
  • Anisha Kuppa
  • Haydn Lawrence
  • Sanwei Lu
  • Matthew McCreath
  • Julia Metelka
  • Sara Mitchell-Ewart
  • Kenneth Onuma
  • Divyang Patel
  • Katrina Protopapas
  • Mohammad Aminur Rahman
  • Nicole Ritter
  • Kelly Robb
  • Md Abdus Sabur
  • Hina Shaheen
  • Arthur Situm
  • Sara Soldoozy
  • Tomendro Subedi
  • Emily Sung
  • Logan K. Townsend
  • Anthony Trinh
  • Chelsea Uggenti
  • Dan Wang
  • Lauren Yee

Support Staff

Josh Grift
Institute Website Coordinator
Physics and Computer Science Student

Janet Reimer
Administrative Assistant


In Memoriam

David Cai (1963-2017)

Professor Cai served on the Advisory Board of the Institute from its inception. See In Memoriam for David Cai at the SIAM webpage.

David Vaughan (1951-2015)

Professor Vaughan was one of the creators of the institute. He was deputy director, operations and advancement. Read his obituary.

Janis Rimshans (1951-2015)

Professor Rimshans was an associate member of the MS2Discovery Institute. He visited Wilfrid Laurier University and collaborated with the members of the institute on a wide range of scientific topics. Professor Rimshans was a Latvian mathematician and physicist, director of the Liepaja University, director of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Information Technology, head of the Mathematical Modeling Hydrodynamics Laboratory in the Institute of Mathematics and Computer Sciences of the University of Latvia. Janis was a wonderful person and a great scientist who is missed by many of us who had an honour and privilege to work with him.

Join Us!

Membership is open to all faculty at Laurier and partner institutions who are interested in participating in research and/or activities within the institute's priority areas

If you are a student, our faculty members can supervise you through their affilation to a number of nearby universities, in addition to WLU. Please consult our Graduate Programs page for further information  on your Masters or PhD studies in one of the priorities areas of the Institute. 

If you are a student who is supervised by our faculty,  become a student member to get involved in our activities. To become a member, contact

Contact Us:

Office Location: Lazaridis Hall room LH3087, Waterloo Campus

Location, Maps and Parking