Skip to main content
WinS Logo

Grants and Awards

The Laurier Centre for Women in Science (WinS) provides annual scholarships and grants to support:

  • Research by women students in science and math-focused fields.
  • Research about gender parity in science and mathematical social sciences.

To be eligible for a WinS grant or award, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Recipients must identify as a woman student in natural sciences or mathematical social sciences or be an individual researching or studying gender parity in sciences.
  • Recipients must be registered at Laurier in graduate or undergraduate studies at the time of the application.
  • Recipients must have obtained, over the previous years of study, a cumulative average of at least a B-.
  • Recipients may hold one award per fiscal year (April 1 to March 31) and a maximum of two throughout the duration of their university career at Laurier.

Hypatia Awards

Applications open: April 1, 2022

Application deadline: May 2, 2022

These awards will be given each year to outstanding women students to recognize their achievements in science or addressing gender parity in science. Separate awards will be announced for undergraduate and graduate students. Each award is valued at $500. 

To apply, the applicant will submit a:

  1. WinS Hypatia Awards Application
  2. CV
  3. Unofficial transcript of grades
  4. A one page statement about your academic and personal interests, personal and career goals, extracurricular activities, or anything else you feel is important for the committee to know
  5. A letter of reference 

Please note: application packages include 1) Hypatia award application (Qualtrics survey), 2) CV, 3) unofficial transcript of grades, and 4) statement of personal interests.

*Applicants can upload their CV, transcript, and personal statement in Qualtrics as they complete the award application.

The letter of reference (5) should be submitted to Dr. Shohini Ghose via email at 
directly by the referee. 

2022 Award Winners

  • Marin Taylor
  • Carol Salama
  • Dominique Daniels
  • Christina Rossi
  • Emily Rodriguez
  • Patricia Ferreira

2021 Award Winners

  • Xena Montoya
  • Vanessa Shivnauth
  • Morgan Glofcheskie
  • Emily Ford  
  • Keara Sutherland  
  • Lana Hiscock
  • Sheryl Bourgaize 

2020 Award Winners

  • Abigail Broad
  • Andrea D'Alessandro
  • Emily Rodriguez
  • Sophie Roth
  • Katherine Standen
  • Rachel Goldfarb

2019 Award Winners

  • Sarah Ranco
  • Lexy Mahon

Previous Award Winners

  • Amandeep Singh
  • Nicole Reindeers
  • Rosa Fallahpourghadikolaei
  • Katherine Black
  • Erinn Barry

Student Research and Travel Grants

Please note: Due to COVID-19, the Student Research and Travel Grants are not accepting applications until further notice. 

These grants provide funds for research equipment and/or travel to conferences or workshops. Undergraduates can apply for a maximum amount of $500. Graduate and post-doctoral students can apply for a maximum amount of $1,000.

To apply, submit a research and travel grants application form, a research statement, CV, unofficial transcript of grades, a budget and a letter of reference from your supervisor. Email your application directly to Dr. Shohini Ghose at of the Department of Physics and Computer Science (Science Building N2076H).

2019 Award Winners

  • Amandeep Singh
  • Bianca Dreyer
  • Kelly Robb
  • Lana Hiscock

Previous Award Winners

  • Fatma Arslantas
  • Brianna Hunt
  • Abigail Broad
  • Sara Cabral Moniz
  • Jasmina Vucic
  • Mercedes Huynh
  • Rachel Cohen
  • Carly Tward
  • Pelin Tan
  • Maxine Harvey-Burgess
  • Brigitte Laird 
  • Rebecca Chow
  • Jaslyn English
  • Katelyn Mitchell
  • Alyssa Prangley
  • Lana Pfaff
  • Jaime Mitchell