Skip to main content
WinS Logo

About Us

The 2020 NSERC Chair for Women in Science & Engineering  

As of July 1, 2020 Dr. Shohini Ghose, the Director of The Laurier Centre for Women in Science (WinS), holds the NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering (Ontario) Congratulations Dr. Ghose! 

Our Mission

Laurier's Centre for Women in Science (WinS) aims to build an inclusive community for women in science through research, communication and action.

Our Motto

At WinS, our motto is E²C: Explore, Engage, Connect.

  • Explore: Support and facilitate research by women and about women in science and mathematical social sciences.
  • Engage: Develop and implement evidence-based strategies and start new conversations to promote equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) in science.
  • Connect: Build strong networks and unique partnerships with academia, industry and government that promote and publicize inclusive science in the community.

Our Goals

  • To attract women into science and mathematical/quantitative fields.
  • To support and celebrate women’s contributions to science and mathematical social sciences.
  • To address challenges women still face in higher education and careers in science.

Why is this Important?

Achieving gender equity will:

  • Strengthen science and technology research in Canada.
  • Potentially double the highly skilled workforce in science and technology in Canada.
  • Increase the number of women leaders and role models in academia, government and industry.

The Team


Shohini Ghose Professor, Physics and Computer Science, Wilfrid Laurier University

Associate Director 

Maria Gallego Professor, Economics, Wilfrid Laurier University 

Research & Programs Director 

Eden Hennessey Department of Psychology, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Data Specialist, Office of the Associate Vice President, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, Wilfrid Laurier University

Project Manager

Skye Hennessey 

Administrative & Research Specialist 

Margie Christ, M.Sc. (Physics - Quantum Information)  

Research Associates

Adrianna Tassone, M.A. (Psychology), PhD Student

Events & Engagement Coordinator

Mridhulaa Suresh

WinS 4 Life Members 

Catherine Palm

Emily Ana Butler

Alexander Jay, M.A. (Psychology), PhD

Bianca Dreyer, M.A. (Psychology), PhD  

Patricia Sanchez, M.A. (Psychology), PhD

Ria Chakraborty 

Gabriela Roselli

Fatima Warraich

Ayaka Kawamata

Julia Scullion 

Anum Khattak

Caroline Alpert 

Rob Chalkley 

Asal Eshghabadi

Khushi Sheth

Razan Mohamed 

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee helps to evaluate funding applications, organize and support WinS activities and develop connections to sponsors and partners.

Debbie Chaves Science Librarian, Wilfrid Laurier University

Allison McDonald Associate Professor, Biology, Wilfrid Laurier University

Xu (Sunny) Wang Associate Professor, Mathematics, Wilfrid Laurier University

Maria Gallego Professor, Economics, Wilfrid Laurier University